The Triochron Prize


Triochron Physics Prize

The Triochron Physics Prize is an annual competition open to high school and senior secondary students in Tasmania.  First prize is $1000 and there is also a Director’s Prize of $250, with both prize winners receiving a trophy along with the prize money.

We are delighted to announce that the winner of the 2017 Triochron Industries Physics Prize is Kiah Swinsburg of St. Patrick’s College in Launceston.  This is the second year running that a student from St. Patrick’s has taken out the award.

Picking up the Director’s Prize for 2017 is Jack Masea from Penguin High School.  Competing against senior secondary students, Jack’s paper showed great understanding of the subject matter for a year 10 student.

A huge debt of gratitude is owed to the educators who encourage students to step outside their comfort zone and explore beyond their standard curriculum into the farther reaches of physics theory.  The submissions received this year are a testament to the fantastic work done by science teachers throughout the state.

This year’s winning submission can be viewed here.

Triochron Director Pat Merrick with 2017 First Prize winner Kiah Swinsburg from St. Patrick’s College

Director Pat Merrick with Penguin High School students Alleah Maywald and Jack Masea (2017 Director’s Prize recipient) and science teacher Mrs. Sheila Sherriff.